Genesis Power Stations

Huntly Power Station

The 953 MW Huntly Power Station is New Zealand's largest power station by capacity.

This station is located close to major population centres, has reliable access to cooling water, coal and gas resources, and benefits from limited transmission constraints. This, together with long-term resource consents, means that the Huntly Power Station is expected to continue to provide Genesis Energy with both a valuable asset and a range of future development options.

The Huntly Power Station has the ability to provide base-load generation while also being able to take advantage of higher prices in the short or medium term. The mix of generating units is likely to change over time as older gas/coal-fired generation units are placed into long-term storage, retired or replaced.

In addition, the Huntly Power Station plays an important role in supporting financial contracts offered by the Company to other retailers and large customers as dry period 'insurance', and in providing ancillary services such as frequency and voltage support.

A description of the generating units at Huntly Power Station can be found below.

Huntly plant description

Huntly Power Station environmental

Lower Waikato river enhancement

Tongariro Power Scheme

The 361.8MW Tongariro Power scheme comprises three hydro power stations – Rangipo (120MW, underground), Tokaanu (240MW) and Mangaio (1.8MW) and has a catchment area of more than 2600 km2 in the North Island's central volcanic plateau. The scheme gathers water from the mountains of the central plateau through Eastern and Western Diversions of the Scheme. The water passes through a series of pipes, lakes, canals and tunnels to the Mangaio, Tokaanu and Rangipo hydro power stations before entering Lake Taupo.

Tongariro Power Scheme

Tongariro Power Scheme description

Tongariro Power Scheme environmental

Environmental mitigation at Tongariro

Further Information on the Tongariro Power Scheme

Ngāti Tūwharetoa Genesis Energy Committee (NT-GEC)

Waikaremoana Power Scheme

The Waikaremoana Power Scheme is located between Te Urewera and Wairoa, along the upper 7km of the Waikaretaheke River.

The 138MW hydro scheme comprises three power stations – Kaitawa (36MW), Tuai (60MW) and Piripaua (42MW).

Water is taken from Lake Waikaremoana via tunnels to Kaitawa Power Station, before being discharged into Lake Kaitawa. Water is then passed through Tuai Power Station and discharged into Lake Whakamarino. From there, water is carried by tunnel to Piripaua Power Station and is discharged into the Waikaretaheke River.

Waikaremoana Power Scheme

Waikaremoana Scheme description

Waikaremoana Power Scheme environmental

Tekapo Power Scheme

The Tekapo Power Scheme has been owned and operated by Genesis since 1 June 2011.

The 190MW hydro scheme is located at the head of the Waitaki Valley in the Mackenzie District of the South Island. Water is taken from Lake Tekapo through an intake tunnel and generates electricity through Tekapo A Station (30MW). Outflows from Tekapo A flow through the Tekapo canal before entering Tekapo B Power Station (160MW). Tekapo B sits in the bed of Lake Pūkaki, with outflows entering the lake directly.

Tekapo Power Scheme description

Tekapo power scheme environmental

Tekapo Canal Access

Tekapo Power Scheme

Hau Nui wind farm

Hau Nui wind farm is situated in the South Wairarapa and has 15 wind turbines. The wind farm was constructed in two stages.

Stage 1 was constructed at the northern end of Range Road in 1996 and Stage 2 was completed in 2004.

Hau Nui wind farm

Site history
Site history

The South Wairarapa area is recognised for its significant wind energy potential, and the Hau Nui site is acknowledged as one of the best wind farm sites in the world. The May 2001 Energy Efficiency and Conservation Authority report "Review of New Zealand Wind Energy Potential to 2015", cited the Wairarapa Hills and Coast area as having the second highest potential energy output in New Zealand. The area could provide up to 12% of the New Zealand wind energy potential, and is second only to the Foveaux Strait and South East Hills area in the South Island.


Hau Nui has 15 Enercon E-40 wind turbines. The seven turbines installed in stage 1 (1996) are third-generation wind-energy technology and the additional eight turbines installed in stage 2 (2004) are later versions of this model.

The E-40 is a variable-speed machine. The rotor, driven by three blades, is directly linked to the generator, allowing for rotation at speeds varying between 18 to 38 revolutions per minute. Each blade has its own electronic pitch control system, which automatically adjusts the angle of the blades to the wind to maintain a constant power output. The gearless generators are designed with as few moving parts as possible and the absence of a gearbox means no possibility of oil leakages and no oil change.

Kupe joint venture

The Kupe Joint Venture is an integral part of the Company's business and provides a diversified source of revenue.

Genesis, through wholly owned subsidiaries, has a 46% interest in the Kupe Joint Venture, which owns the Kupe oil and gas field that lies in the offshore Taranaki basin.

Kupe joint venture